IEEE Conference on Decision and Control (CDC) Best Student Paper Award

To recognize excellence in a conference paper whose primary contributor(s) is a (are) Student Member(s) of the IEEE. 

Historical Background:

Established in 1992

Certificate laminated on a plaque, and travel expenses to the CDC for one recipient (round trip restricted minimal coach air fare, conference registration, and up to 4 conference-rate hotel nights for a 3-day conference, and up to 5 conference-rate hotel nights for a 4-day conference). The remaining finalists receive Outstanding Student-Paper award certificates and free student conference registrations.
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society.
At the Awards Ceremony of the CSS.
Basis for Judging:
Originality, clarity and potential impact on practical applications or theoretical foundations of control.
Primary contributor(s) of a paper, who was a (were) Student(s) at the time of original submission.
Nomination Details:

Nominations must be made by the student's major mentor (advisor) through the awards portal of PaperPlaza ( the deadline specified on the CDC website, before the CDC deadline for final paper submission. The final version of the paper must be submitted before submitting the nomination. Nominations are limited to one per advisor. The nomination package includes the nomination form that can be found on the CDC website (under student programs); the form needs to be completed and uploaded through the award portal on PaperPlaza. 

The Chair of the CDC  Best Student-Paper Award committee is appointed by the Board of Governors of the IEEE Control Systems Society (IEEE CSS), based on recommendations from the IEEE CSS President-Elect and the IEEE CSS ExCom.

The winner is announced by the IEEE CSS Vice-President for Conference Activities at the CSS Award Ceremony during the CDC, where each finalist receives a certificate and the winner receives a plaque.

Alena Rodionova, Lars Lindemann, Manfred Morari, and George J. Pappas

Jin-Won Kim, and Prashant G. Mehta

Erfan Nozari, and Jorge Cortés

Necmiye Ozay, and Octavia Camps