IEEE CSS George S. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award

To recognize outstanding papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control.

A photo-engraved Plaque for each recipient and, for one recipient, travel expenses to the CDC (round trip restricted minimal coach air fare, conference registration, and up to 4 conference-rate hotel nights for a 3-day conference, and up to 5 conference-rate hotel nights for a 4-day conference).
Funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society.
At most one (1) award presented at the Award Ceremony of the CSS
Basis for Judging:
Originality, potential impact on the theoretical foundations of control, importance and practical significance in applications, and clarity.
Authors of papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control during the two calendar years preceding the year of the award. The paper publication date is determined by the journal volume date (not the online publication date).
Nomination Details:

Nominations and reference letters are due by May 15 and must be submitted using the IEEE Control Systems Society Awards Nomination system at

Nomination Form

Nomination Instructions

Christoph Kawan, Andrii Mironchenko, Abdalla Swikir, Navid Noroozi, and Majid Zamani

Matthias Müller, Johannes Köhler, Julian Berberich, and Frank Allgöwer

Yuh-Shyang Wang, Nikolai Matni, and John Doyle

Fulvio Forni, and Rodolphe Sepulchre

Masaaki Nagahara, Daniel Quevedo, and Dragan Nesic

Yongxin Chen, Tryphon Georgiou, and Michele Pavon

John Lygeros, Peyman Mohajerin Esfahani, and Tobias Sutter

Giacomo Como, Ketan Savla, Daron Acemoglu, Munther Dahleh, and Emilio Frazzoli

Girish N. Nair

Bassam Bamieh, Mihailo Jovanovic, Partha Mitra, and Stacy Patterson

Alessandro Astolfi

Munther Dahleh, and Nuno Martins

Antoine Girard, and George J. Pappas

Giuseppe Calafiore, and Marco Campi

Michael Rotkowitz, and Sanjay Lall

Tetsuya Iwasaki, and Shinji Hara

João Hespanha

Bassam Bamieh, Fernando Paganini, and Munther Dahleh

Christopher Byrnes, Tryphon Georgiou, and Anders Lindquist

Jessy Grizzle, Gabriel Abba, and Franck Plestan

George Barrett, and Stéphane Lafortune

Tryphon Georgiou, and Malcolm Smith

Miroslav Krstic

Yutaka Yamamoto

Tamer Bașar, and Z. Pan

S.L. Chung, Stéphane Lafortune, and F. Lin

Tryphon Georgiou, and Malcolm Smith

Sigurd Skogestad, Manfred Morari, and John Doyle

John Doyle, Keith Glover, Pramod Khargonekar, and Bruce Francis

Munther Dahleh, and J. Boyd Pearson

Hassan Khalil

K.S. Narendra, and Anuradha Annaswamy

Xi-Ren Cao

Bruce Francis, J.W. Helton, and George Zames

Graham Goodwin, Peter J. Ramadge, and Peter Caines

Edward Davison, P. A. Taylor, and J. D. Wright

Lennart Ljung

Lennart Ljung

S.H. Wang, and Edward Davison